Top Horror Movies

Here’s a list of the top ten horror movies from www.best-horror-movies.com. Do you agree? Disagree? What would you change? How many of these have you seen?

Personally, I don’t think Misery should be in there. I also cringed to see Silence of the Lambs – not that I don’t like it. I just don’t think of it as horror. It’s more of a thriller to me. I’d replace Misery with the Evil Dead trilogy and Silence of the Lambs with Dead Alive. It’s fun to see Phantasm in there, btw. LOVED it when I was a kid.

10. Friday the 13th (1980 Directed by Sean S. Cunningham)Friday the 13th 2 (1981 Directed by Steve Miner)

9. Carrie (1976 Directed by Brian De Palma)

8. Halloween (1978 Directed by John Carpenter)Halloween 2 (1981 Directed by Rick Rosenthal)

7. Phantasm (1979 Directed by Don Coscarelli)

6. Silence of the Lambs (1991 Directed by Jonathan Demme)

5. Psycho (1960 Directed by Alfred Hitchcock)

4. A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984 Directed by Wes Craven)

3. Misery (1990 Directed by Rob Reiner)

2. The Shining (1980 Directed by Stanley Kubrick)

And…the BEST HORROR MOVIE of all time…

1. The Exorcist (1973 Directed by William Friedkin)

5 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Where’s Omega Man?

    October 13, 2006 at 2:19 am

  2. YoBimbo

    Yeah. I liked Omega Man. I remember watching that on TV when I was a kid.

    October 13, 2006 at 1:50 pm

  3. -Deb-

    I agree that “Silence of the Lambs” is more of a thriller, and I don’t get the presence of Misery. I don’t consider the Evil Dead movies horror, though… a great HORROR film makes me cringe more than laugh. :-)

    But Elm St., Psycho, Friday 13th, Shining, Exorcist, Halloween… yeah. Can’t believe “Texas Chainsaw Massacre” didn’t make the cut, that was scary as hell and really ahead of its time.

    October 13, 2006 at 8:15 pm

  4. -Deb-

    oh and “Night of the Living Dead…”!

    October 13, 2006 at 8:16 pm

  5. YoBimbo

    You’re right about TCM and NOTLD. As for Evil Dead, we’re wading into that territory where we have to categorize the genre. What about B Horror? What about cult stuff like Eraserhead?

    Hey. What about Rosemary’s Baby?

    October 13, 2006 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

