NOW it’s Spring

We went to the Nats/Mets game yesterday at RFK.

This video is the great stuff about baseball for me. It’s not just the game. Watching it on TV is okay, but if you have a beautiful 75-degree day with no humidity, and the park is a 15-minute DRIVE from your house, you MUST go to the park.

I cut out the sounds from the park in favor of the music, but you should’ve heard the guy bellowing out “PROOOOO-GRAAAAAAMS! PROOOOO-GRAAAAAAMS!” Or the guys in front of us (the stars of the video, really) yelling, “Yer OUT! Siddown!” And, “Are you kidding me?! That was NOT a strike!”

Or the two men behind us who brought their very young daughters to the game.

“Look, honey, they’re painting the white lines on the field!”

“Why?”

“Sweetheart, remember… it’s okay to do it here, but this is the ONLY place it’s okay.”

“Why?”

“Because you don’t throw peanut shells on someone’s floor.”

“Why?”

Then there’s the food.

I honestly have no idea why I didn’t take a shot of the two (I want to say ginormous, but I won’t) enormous hot dogs and my yummy beer(s). Courtney broke tradition and got bbq. (Yeah, I know it’s not breaking tradition if you’re in, like, DURHAM, but up here, I believe it is.) I wouldn’t take a picture of the bbq even if I’d remembered to do it. Unless we were in Durham.

It’s gotta be hot dogs, baby.

And beer.

And soft-serve chocolate ice cream.

And popcorn.

And, if you’re at a Giants game, which I wouldn’t be because I’m boycotting Barry Bonds, but if I WERE there, garlic fries that are so garlicky and oily that if you eat two orders of them, you’ll feel sick, just like when you were a kid when you ate too much candy, but it’s okay because you got sick from eating yummy garlic fries.

The only other shot I wish I’d gotten was the one of the little girl behind us who stuffed a wad of blue cotton candy into her mouth, which covered so much of her face that she looked a little bit like the cookie monster would if he were to shave his entire body, save for a spot on his face reserved for a very 90s MLB-like goatee (much like the one Rick Sutcliffe has). We agreed that she’ll probably have green poop today.

Here’s the video. The song is American Music by Violent Femmes.

3 responses

  1. sfrikken

    Loved it! Great lead up, too, Deb. I love it when you write.

    Loved the end shot of the vid. Keep on…

    May 5, 2007 at 11:43 am

  2. sfrikken

    I would be upset at Courtney’s eating BBQ, but she’s probably done more of her duty eating proper ballpark food, she gets a pass! :)

    In Tiger STadium, it’s Italian Sausage….mmmmm(says the vegetarian)

    May 5, 2007 at 11:49 am

  3. MH

    I want to BE a bobblehead president!

    August 30, 2007 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

