Yeah, yeah, the story. But what an AWFUL photo.

Reynolds hired by MLB.com as broadcaster – Boston.com

San Diego Padres infielder Harold Reynolds is shown in this 1994 photo. Reynolds was back talking about baseball Tuesday, hired as a broadcaster by MLB.com while he pursues his lawsuit against ESPN.

Here’s part of the article: 

“Reynolds sued ESPN in October, contending he was wrongly fired after a female intern complained about what he called a “brief and innocuous” hug. He had been with the network since 1996 and had a six-year contract that his lawsuit said was worth about $1 million annually.

“I felt like it was personal. It hurt my family. It hurt my name, and it hurt everything I’ve worked for 30-some years,” he said in a telephone interview with The Associated Press. “I felt like I was wrongfully accused and wrongfully painted, and I wanted to right that wrong.”

Following next month’s All-Star game, Reynolds is to appear on the Web site five times each week at 2 p.m. EDT. Other former players on MLB.com include Billy Sample, Jim Leyritz, Brian McRae and John Marzano.

[edit]

“Everybody was kind of curious as to what transpired at ESPN, and I assured them that I’m not going to embarrass them,” Reynolds said. “My lawsuit is going to continue on. I felt like I did what I needed to do, and I’m going to continue to do that.”

ESPN maintains it acted properly,

“We’re are very confident in our legal position,” network spokesman Mike Soltys said.

If the suit goes to trial, Reynolds said it wouldn’t start until February 2009.

“I think that ESPN had a rush to judgment,” he said. “I don’t think they did a proper investigation. I believe that I wasn’t asked pointed questions. I never was told from day one — or today even — by any executive at ESPN as to what was in the complaint, so how am I supposed to defend myself?”

He is saddened that some of his former colleagues have disassociated with him.

“Peter Gammons calls me once a week to see how I’m doing and to make sure I’m OK,” Reynolds said. “I guess if there’s any disappointment, the people I thought I had good relationships with, I haven’t heard from. But Gammons is solid as a rock, and I appreciate that.'”

Leave a Reply

