Vote for Katie Margaret!

ed: Apparently, this is necessary – I am NOT Katie Margaret’s owner, and the comment about the goldendoodle is not meant as a disparaging remark against the breed.

Katie Margaret is falling behind in the cutest pet contest, and she needs your votes! I’m sure she has no plans for economic growth (or stimulus) or for world peace, but she sure did work that photo shoot, didn’t she? Come on! Be a good American and vote for the best looking candidate with the nicest personality! Kucinich may have dropped out, but we still have Katie Margaret! Don’t let her lose to a… a… goldendoodle (?!?).

Go to the Washingtonian’s site now and vote!

And while you’re at it, vote for Edmund too. Thanks. ;)

23 responses

  1. A doodle lover

    Pull-ease!….why do you have to make a smarmy comment about a goldendoodle? The rest of your post was…well..cute but why disparage another wonderful dog. Be a good sport and talk nice.

    February 16, 2008 at 3:22 pm

  2. Another Doodle owner and Lover.

    I have a Goldendoodle and a Labradoodle and really don’t like your comment . Your dog is very sweet . I enjoyed what you wrote til the last sentence and that left a sour taste.

    February 16, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  3. Wow. Interesting. Reading your comments, I have to wonder a few things…

    First of all, are you posting these comments only because you are “Doodle lovers”, or do you simply search the web for any disparaging comments against any type of animal? I mean, lots of people make fun of Chihuahuas – far worse than my ellipses, question marks, and exclamation points – so do you also comment on those posts, are you simply biased toward “Doodles”? If you didn’t love “Doodles”, would you even care? I doubt it.

    Also, I’m curious – do you get as upset about things that matter? You know, like the lives that are lost every day to poverty, hunger, and war? Please post a link to those comments you’ve made.

    Finally, where the hell is your sense of humor?!? Lighten up! It was a #$*(@ joke!

    And, FYI, Katie Margaret is not my dog – and it’s odd that you should say that she’s very sweet. Did you make that assumption just by looking at her? For all you know, she’s an ankle-ripper. Good god, don’t take this so seriously.

    Move on.

    February 16, 2008 at 5:05 pm

  4. I just checked, and I’ve gotten an inordinate number of hits on this post, and I can only guess that’s because someone wrote a post on Blogher and mistakenly linked to my site. Let me share with you what I just wrote in my email to Blogher:

    “One of your contributors, Laurie White, wrote an article about the Washingtonian’s Cutest Pet contest (http://www.blogher.com/pet-owners-who-love-too-much-nah#readmore ) and linked to my blog in error. Now people are giving me a hard time because I made a “smarmy” comment about a goldendoodle.

    Yeah. I’m not kidding.

    Aside from the fact that the dog I posted about is NOT my dog, my blog is also not the place where one would VOTE for the dog I posted about.

    Would you please remove the link to my blog? It’s located here in the article: “Rich’s professional sources in the article say they don’t see anything wrong with treating pets as treasured and important family members, whether it’s at a bark mitzvah, holding running conversations with them, or picking their names from a baby book (True story. Vote for her here.)”

    Thank you.”

    February 16, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  5. Pingback: There seems to be a movement against me. «

  6. Doodle Fan!

    You should only expect a doodle to win. Sorry they are the cutest. Good Luck

    February 16, 2008 at 8:07 pm

  7. Doodle?

    Oops. you cant mess with doodle parents~
    No matter what a goldendoodle is always cuter, sorry you messed with the wrong breed:)

    February 16, 2008 at 8:18 pm

  8. Thanks for my best day ever for blog hits! LOL

    February 16, 2008 at 8:39 pm

  9. Get Over Yourselves. Doodles Suck Balls

    And it’s all the poodle’s fault!!

    Poodles are the ugliest, most ridiculous looking dogs on the face of the earth. They’re even worse than those African hunting dogs on disc one of Planet Earth. Sad, but true. The poodle is so horrifying in appearance that I can hardly believe it’s real. It’s damn near a myth, a spook story that parents tell their kids at night. “Don’t eat your dinner and the Poodle will get you.” Even the Boogie Man is running for the hills. But alas. These monstrosities ARE real and, even worse, people own and show them around with pride. It’s pure madness.

    Having endured a multitude of run-ins with poodle owners over the years, I’ve come to the conclusion that these people are life-long ugly ducklings that buy them in order to finally attain victory over something… to be washed over – at long last – with those feelings of sweet relief when they happen upon something less attractive than they are. Sadly, that something is their tragic pet. Surely this must be the case given the humiliating hair cuts, dye jobs and outfits that poodle owners inflict upon their so-called “friends.” I once saw a pink poodle with square-cut fur wearing a court jester’s collar. Why don’t you just ask the dog to kill itself? Frankly, the owner should do us all a favor and off his or herself in the process.

    But back to my original point. I used to say that there’s nothing worse than an ugly baby but I take that back. The only thing worse than an ugly baby is a poodle and, by extension, a golden/labradoodle – a depressed, hot mess of a mutt that looks like the abused end of my Nana’s kitchen mop.

    Nice work, science!

    February 16, 2008 at 8:50 pm

  10. Deb H

    I find it sad that people still pay for purebred dogs, much less designer dogs like Labradoodles, with so many homeless animals. And the things they do to create them!

    (You have to read the full NYT article to really appreciate it, but it’s worth it.)


    Deb

    February 16, 2008 at 9:41 pm

  11. A doodle lover

    How upset was I by your post? Not very. I can see how the words “smarmy” and “disparaging” revealed my hot temper to you. Nobody is “organizing” against you….I mean really!…. we are out combing the streets for stray dogs so Deb won’t be mad at us for purchasing one. So…the doxy may be an ankle biter…you stated above that she has the nicest personality – how would you know that if you don’t own her, especially if you haven’t met the other contestants. Glad your blog is having a good day….

    February 16, 2008 at 10:19 pm

  12. I didn’t state that she has the nicest personality. LOL!

    February 16, 2008 at 10:26 pm

  13. Too funny.

    I will vote for the pound puppy every time.

    February 16, 2008 at 10:36 pm

  14. A doodle lover

    Excuse me….read the print above …it says
    “Be a good American and vote for the best looking dog with the nicest personality!” It’s above …to the left of the picture of Katie Margaret. Really….I read English perfectly.

    February 16, 2008 at 10:37 pm

  15. Yes, but you don’t understand it.

    February 16, 2008 at 10:41 pm

  16. A doodle lover

    Huh? What is there to not understand about that sentence?

    February 16, 2008 at 11:03 pm

  17. A doodle lover

    Okay…will you remove this post too, so you get “the last word” all I said was

    What is there to not understand about you saying that the dog has the nicest personality? Did you mean that I don’t understand ENGLISH in general? or I don’t understand the sentence? Or is it that you just can’t come up with a “good” come back answer?

    Your answer is Double Talk. I didn’t say it. Okay, I said it..but…but…you don’t understand it. WHAT?!?!?!

    Yobimbo/Deb…whatever your name is, be glad that you do not work for me.

    February 17, 2008 at 12:01 am

  18. A doodle lover

    Okay….gotcha! Have a nice life. No more visits to your blog. You don’t play fair. The question wasn’t even tough and you can’t answer. I know your type. You aren’t worth the effort and YOU CHEAT

    February 17, 2008 at 12:05 am

  19. Nancy

    OMG – lots of aggression for an innocent matter.
    I’m amazed at this.

    February 17, 2008 at 12:01 pm

  20. When I said, “Be a good American and vote for the best looking candidate with the nicest personality!” I was referring to the fact that people tend to vote for the politician with the best looks and personality! LOL!! It was a jab at the American political system! Why else would I say, “Be a good American”? LOL!! It was a PARODY of political ads. Did you notice that the post was written like a political campaign ad?

    February 17, 2008 at 12:13 pm

  21. N

    ::whisper:: I don’t know if this lady knows anything about politics and parody. I think it’s just best to back away from the crazy woman, before she uses the word “furbaby” in response to a post about, oh, I don’t know, monkeying around with elections.

    February 17, 2008 at 4:06 pm

  22. nora

    WoW see what I miss when I don’t log on !!! This was a very intereting volley of wit that grew to testy heights. I hope doodlelove doesn’t go home and kick their dog. You don’t have to scratch very deep to open some sensitive wounds. I love your clever sense of humor keep it up!

    February 18, 2008 at 11:51 am

  23. N

    You know, I sort of miss Doodlelover. Her name makes me feel dirty.

    February 18, 2008 at 10:17 pm

Leave a Reply

