Body Fluids

Yes, my new job has opened my eyes to a whole new world of facility/employee safety and infection control. (Like my friend Susan, I now notice where fire extinguishers are located, when they were last inspected/maintained, if their locations are properly labeled… and so on). I totally empathized with her blog post about a recent fire drill during a class, “I have to say the emergency coordinator of the universe in me was very pleased, even as I shivered, that many people exited safely, pointing self-righteous fingers at those few clustered in the lobby saying ‘It’s not an ALL CLEAR YET!'” I said in my head, “YES! YES! Good for them!”

Anyway, when I need a break in the action, I browse through the many catalogs I get and look at all the really cool stuff in them, like safety vests, and eye wash stations, and special chemical-resistant gloves, and tools, and knives, and anti-slip floor tiles. Oh, yes. The dyke in me loves those catalogs. For example, I bought these for the warehouse and delivery guys as a thank-you for all their hard work for accreditation:

Shortcut - Scissors

And yes, in case you were wondering, I got one for me, too.

Anyway…

I was just flipping through a “First Aid and Safety” catalog, and came across the kind of stuff I LOVE:

Speedy Cleanz.

Speedy Cleanz

“Absorbs up to 10 times its own weight in vomit, urine or other body fluids; transforms liquid into odorless, semi-solid mass.”

It’s like putting kitty litter on an oil or gas puddle, but BETTER because it works on VOMIT, URINE, or OTHER BODY FLUIDS. That’s just awesome.

And I love the “10 times its own weight” bit. Beautiful.

Too bad we don’t need it.

2 responses

  1. Nora Battey

    Now I know where you’ve been. Getting lost in bowels (No pun Intended) of body fluids safety. Which is only highlighted by the nifty tools….grrrrrrl you need to get out more!

    March 14, 2008 at 8:04 am

  2. AWESOME! Ten times its own weight. Ooooiiig.

    Make sure Deb sees that catalog, willya? I NEED one of those! I need it. Neeeeeeed.

    Just FYI. I have safety pins, a hank of woven “rope” (more like shoelace, but whatever), my cheat sheet knot-tying cards and matches, a pencil, needle, thread and my Swiss Army knife on me almost all the time.

    The knife and lip balm ALL the time.

    :)

    March 14, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

